Humphrey School's 14th Annual Awards Ceremony Recognizes former Amb. Pickering, June 6

June 6, RSVP:  14th Annual Awards Ceremony Recognizes Individuals for Building Hope and Opportunity for Future Generations

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs is pleased to announce that five distinguished individuals will receive the 2016 Hubert H. Humphrey Public Leadership Award at a ceremony on June 6, 2016. The awards, established to honor the Humphrey School’s namesake, Hubert H. Humphrey, honor individuals who have contributed to the common good through leadership and service. This year’s awards recognize remarkable leaders who have dedicated their lives to addressing the world’s most pressing problems, and to building hope and opportunity for future generations.

2016 Recipients include:

Thomas Pickering, Former Ambassador to the United Nations, for his lifelong commitment to addressing global challenges and promoting peace and security through diplomacy

Other honorees include Alan Page, Retired Minnesota Supreme Court Justice, for his esteemed career in the judiciary, his and his tireless promotion of equal opportunities for students of color through the Page Education Foundation; Lisa Jackson, Vice President of Environment, Policy, and Social Initiatives, Apple, for her pursuit of sustainability and equity, and responsible stewardship of our environment; David Durenberger, Former U.S. Senator, for his promotion of bipartisan solutions to our most challenging social issues, and civility in the public discourse; and Sia Her (MPP ’07), Executive Director, Minnesota State Council on Asian Pacific Minnesotans, for her work to strengthen and build a more inclusive community across socioeconomic, gender, and generational lines
© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement