Call for Nominations 2016 ONE Africa Award

The 2016 ONE Africa Award recognises Africa-driven; Africa led advocacy efforts that have demonstrated success at community, national or regional level. It aims to recognise, reward, and advance the exceptional work of organisations, founded by Africans and based in Africa, dedicated to helping Africa achieve the Sustainable Development Goals. The $100,000 award will bring recognition to innovative African efforts to fight poverty and will incentivise more of such efforts.
About the award

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) were adopted in 2015 as a global compact between nations to improve the lives of the world’s poorest. Throughout Africa, significant progress to end extreme poverty and preventable disease has been achieved. Individuals and organisations are employing innovative ideas and exciting approaches to transform lives in the continent daily.

The ONE Africa Award celebrates these efforts and progress towards achievement of the SDGs, the world’s blueprint to a better future, ranging from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education. ONE applauds the progress made, and looks forward to solutions for the challenges still ahead.

ONE recognises the Africa-driven, Africa-led advocacy efforts that have demonstrated success at a community, national, or regional level. By honouring the commitment and progress on the ground, we hope that new efforts can be inspired and more lives can be saved.
Who qualifies?

Civil society organisations, non-governmental organisations and other groups based in Africa that can demonstrate commitment and success in advocacy to promote the attainment of one or more of the SDGs are invited to apply. ONE applauds the progress made, and looks forward to solutions for the challenges still ahead.
Award criteria

Award recipients can be exceptional organisations and other groups demonstrating commitment and success in assisting Africans in meeting one or more of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) through innovative advocacy based programs.
Qualified recipients may be engaged in direct services to achieve any of the SDGs but must demonstrate a strong advocacy component integral to the delivery and success of their programs.
Qualified recipients may be advocacy/pressure groups and think tanks engaged in governance activities such as the monitoring of flows of resources and/or holding governments accountable to commitments to MDG attainment.
2016 Award Criteria

The 2016 ONE Africa Award recognises best practices by an African organisation or individual addressing social development issues through innovative advocacy in promotion of SDG attainment.

Organisations will be graded in 5 categories and awarded between 1-10 points in each of these categories:
Extent to which the organisation has designed and implemented an innovative advocacy program that employs entrepreneurial and sustainable approaches to impact in a given sector(s).
Ability to demonstrate and communicate specific indicators of progress and impact linking work to a given sector(s) in a clear results-oriented framework.
Demonstration of the ability to replicate efforts of the organisation to take intervention to scale.
Demonstration of strong internal and constituency accountability mechanisms (i.e. community leadership consultations and involvement in programs to demonstrate the interventions are relevant to the majority of the poor in the target community and empowers them in a sustainable way) along with transparency of operations.
Extent to which the organisation has employed creative partnerships to achieve its goal(s) and ensure coordination with other development actors. These partnerships may include public and/or private sector players.

BONUS: For the 2016 prize, organisations that demonstrate innovative ideas and approaches towards projects, initiatives and plans to make popular the Global Goals for Sustainable Development in their community or region will receive up to 5 bonus points in the scoring of their application

Deadline 23:59 SAST / 21:59 GMT/UTC Friday, November 25th 2016

This material is cross-posted from the Peace and Collaborative Development Network, and appears to be an interesting opportunity for the Humphrey community.   This is meant for information sharing purposes only. 
© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement